in honor of Black Friday

Thanksgiving in my household growing up meant two things, lots of delicious food and shopping. My poor Dad suffered through the holiday season with our constant rounds of marathon shopping days. I’m missing out on all the “Black Friday” events.

Today, I was forward a link to Tobi Virtual Dressing Room – a really cool use of Augmented Reality technology – uses webcam and object recognition to merge a “physical real-world environment with virtual computer-generated imagery” (thanks wikipedia) to try clothes online before purchasing. It integrates with Facebook too just in case I can’t decide on what new dress to buy for New Years. I’m not sure I want every friend of mine commenting on my choices, so mission tonight is see if can share with only my sisters.

Tobi Virtual Dressing Room

Print out then hold up “marker” paper in front of you and your webcam.

Marker paper magically changes into a dress!

Resize and position item.

Rate clothes you “try on” by motioning your hand over the “thumbs-up” or “thumbs-down” icons.


Share photo on Facebook…


Leave a Reply

