Facebook’s new term’s & conditions…

It seems that Facebook has recently changed a key element of their T&C’s, causing a fair bit of consternation by privacy groups.  

First discovered by the Consumerist’s Chris Walters, the new T&C’s appear to grant Facebook: 

“an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid, worldwide license (with the right to sublicense) to (a) use, copy, publish, stream, store, retain, publicly perform or display, transmit, scan, reformat, modify, edit, frame, translate, excerpt, adapt, create derivative works and distribute (through multiple tiers), any User Content you (i) Post on or in connection with the Facebook Service or the promotion thereof subject only to your privacy settings or (ii) enable a user to Post, including by offering a Share Link on your website and (b) to use your name, likeness and image for any purpose, including commercial or advertising, each of (a) and (b) on or in connection with the Facebook Service or the promotion thereof.”

As Chris points out, this is not new, but they’ve deleted two key lines from the old T&C’s, which basically stated that upon termination of your account with Facebook this license expired.  With this deletion, Facebook is making the claim that they own anything you upload to their service for all time – no matter what you do or say.  

Read more about it here:  http://consumerist.com/5150175/facebooks-new-terms-of-service-we-can-do-anything-we-want-with-your-content-forever

Regardless of whether the intent was innocent, as Mark Zuckerberg claims, it still raises some serious questions about content ownership in the online world.  Thoughts?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s